Amateur Artist Blogiversary

Yesterday was my blogiversary.  7 years, 102 entries. 6 followers, and usually  less than 100 readers–thanks for reading. It’s been good to be able to go back and see how life is different, how it’s the same, how I’ve grown and how I haven’t changed a bit.

Everything old is new again. The more things change the more they stay the same. 7 years ago my oldest child was in middle school and youngest was in elementary school. I worked in a children’s museum. Since then I have learned that I love STEM and the community. I sure would like to create my dream job. Last year my dream job came open, but I had to pass up that opportunity, and now I’m on the hunt again. My newest thing is an opportunity to teach a college class at the local university. This is a side gig, but I am looking forward to it.

About 20 years ago, I had the idea to write a book. My idea stemmed from the fact that I had come across many people in my life and I wanted to write about the ones that made an impression on me.Back then we didn’t have the internet as we know  it today. I wrote a few entries and gave up. Then my computer crashed and I lost it forever.  It was called, “The people I’ve Met Along the Way.” Then, I wondered, who would read it? And why? It’s not interesting, sexy, steamy, or violent. In fact, my stories are likely warm and fuzzy. Not too exciting is it?

So, I aborted the mission and kind of gave up on  it. Several years past and children kept me busy. Then I discovered WordPress. I thought about it a good long while before I jumped in. At that time I was looking to see how people’s passions played out in their daily lives–I still am! As a writer, you get inspired sometimes just to write. Like you have something to say, and you can’t think of anything else until you get it written down. It happens at very inopportune times–like 3 am or 12 am when I should be in bed. Lots of times what I have to say is only important to me. Other times, it’s about a cool person in my life. Sometimes, it’s a song I want to share.

The blog really helps me sort things out. I can go back and find some pretty dark times–the death of a friend, job stress, family things going on and even world events. I am thankful for this place to sort out things. Often, it’s not the product, it’s the process.

Leave a Reply

